The short version
There is no one best joint account, so this page gives the reason behind each pick. For checking with no monthly fee, Capital One 360, Ally, SoFi and Axos list none; Chase, Bank of America and Wells Fargo charge $12 to $15 a month unless you meet a deposit or balance rule.
For savings, the rates listed on November 2, 2026 ran from 3.2% at Ally to up to 5.00% at Axos with conditions. Rates move, and this is general information, not advice. The list is not a ranking.
- 1
Capital One 360: No fee and no minimum on checking, and a joint holder added online
- 2
Ally: $0 fees, a 3.2% savings APY listed today, and owners added online
- 3
SoFi: No account fees, but the 3.30% rate depends on direct deposit
- 4
Chase: A branch you can walk into, if you will meet one of the four fee waivers
- 5
Bank of America: One $250 direct deposit or a $1,500 balance waives the $12 fee
- 6
Wells Fargo: A joint account opened online, if you will meet one of four waivers
- 7
Axos: No fees and the highest savings rates listed, with conditions
- 8
Fidelity: Unlimited ATM fee reimbursement, if a brokerage account suits you
How we compared
This page answers which account to open. If you are asking whether to open one, who can take money out and what happens if you split, read joint bank accounts for couples, married or not first, and how to open one online for the steps.
We compared nine things a couple has to live with:
- The monthly fee, and how to avoid it.
- What it takes to open one.
- The savings APY listed that day.
- ATMs you can use without a fee.
- Overdraft fees.
- Deposit insurance.
- How to add a partner.
- Whether each owner gets their own card and login.
- What the joint owners can do to each other.
Every figure is from the bank's own page, opened on November 2, 2026, and each has a numbered link to that page. Where the page was silent, the table says "Not stated" and we left the cell empty rather than fill it from memory. We did not use affiliate links, and none of these banks pays us. Discover is not here because its bank pages now send you to Capital One. Citi and Schwab are not here because we could not open a working product page for them on the day.
Fees and how to waive them
The monthly fee is the first thing to compare, because on a joint account it is one fee for the two of you. Four of these banks list no fee on the checking account. Three charge, and each gives ways to avoid it.
| Bank | Checking account | Monthly fee | How to waive it | To open |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Capital One 360 | 360 Checking | None. No monthly fees, no minimums and no overdraft fees on checking.[2] | No fee to waive | $0 on both accounts[3] |
| Ally | Spending account | $0. The page lists monthly maintenance at $0.[6] | No fee to waive | $0 on both accounts[7] |
| SoFi | SoFi Checking | None. SoFi says it does not charge account, service or maintenance fees. Outgoing wires and Instant Transfers do cost.[9] | No fee to waive | No minimum balance required[9] |
| Chase | Total Checking | $15 a month[11] | $0 if, each statement period, you have $500+ in qualifying electronic deposits, a $1,500+ balance at the start of each day, a $5,000+ average beginning-day balance, or a linked qualifying checking account[11] | Total Checking: not stated on its page. Chase Savings (the savings account it pairs with): "does not require a minimum balance to open."[12] |
| Bank of America | Advantage Plus Banking | $12 a month[14] | $0 with a $1,500+ minimum daily balance, one qualifying direct deposit of $250+, or an owner in BofA Rewards at the Preferred Plus, Preferred Honors or Premier tier[14] | Not stated |
| Wells Fargo | Everyday Checking | $15 a month[15] | $0 with a $1,500 minimum daily balance, $500+ in qualifying electronic deposits, $5,000+ in qualifying deposit and/or investment balances, or a qualifying monthly non-civilian military direct deposit[15] | Not stated |
| Axos | Axos Checking | None. Axos Checking has no monthly maintenance, balance, opening or overdraft fees.[17] | No fee to waive | Summit Savings has no minimum deposit; many checking accounts have none[18] |
| Fidelity | Cash Management Account | The page lists fee-free checkwriting, bill pay and direct deposit; it gives no monthly fee[19] | No fee to waive | Not stated |
With a waiver tied to deposits or a balance, ask whether the bank counts both owners together. Two paychecks into one account usually clear a $500 or $250 deposit rule, but the pages we read do not say how they count a joint account. Bank of America's page, for example, ties one waiver to "an owner" enrolled in its rewards program.
Savings rates
A joint savings account is where couples park a house fund or an emergency fund. Rates are variable and the bank can change them at any time, so the date matters more than the number. These were listed on the dates shown. Chase, Bank of America, Wells Fargo and Fidelity are not in the table because we did not read a savings page for them.
| Bank | Savings account | APY as listed |
|---|---|---|
| Capital One 360 | 360 Performance Savings | 3.20% APY, variable, effective 11/2/2026 (read in a browser). No fees and no minimums.[3] |
| Ally | Online Savings | 3.2% APY as of 11/02/26, variable[7] |
| SoFi | SoFi Savings | 3.30% APY with eligible direct deposit or $5,000 in qualifying deposits every 31 days; new members up to 4.40% for up to six months. Page rates dated 10/20/2026.[9] |
| Axos | Summit Savings and Axos ONE | Summit Savings up to 4.01% for up to 6 months, including a 0.26% new-customer boost for accounts opened Oct 1 to Dec 1, 2026. Axos ONE Savings up to 5.00% with qualifying activity. Page dated 11/3/2026.[18] |
Two cautions. A top rate that needs a set amount of direct deposit each month works for a joint account only if the bank counts your deposits. SoFi says that on a joint account only the primary holder's direct deposits count. And a rate for new customers drops when the window ends: Axos lists the top Summit Savings rate for up to 6 months.
ATMs, overdraft and insurance
These matter when something goes wrong. A joint account has two people spending from one balance, which makes an overdraft more likely, and the fee on it goes from $0 to $35 a hit between banks.
| Bank | ATMs | Overdraft | Insurance |
|---|---|---|---|
| Capital One 360 | 70,000+ fee-free Capital One, MoneyPass and Allpoint ATMs[2] | No overdraft fees. You pick auto-decline, a free transfer from savings, or no-fee overdraft, which needs deposits of at least $250 in two of the last three months.[2] | FDIC insured up to allowable limits. Accounts opened on or after May 18, 2025 count with your other Capital One deposit accounts.[2] |
| Ally | 75,000+ no-fee ATMs, plus up to $10 per statement cycle back for fees at other ATMs[6] | Overdraft items cost $0. CoverDraft covers up to $100, or up to $250 after qualifying direct deposits.[6] | Member FDIC; the savings page says up to the maximum allowed by law[7] |
| SoFi | 55,000+ in-network Allpoint ATMs with no SoFi fee[9] | Automatic coverage of up to $50 on debit card purchases, for members with at least $1,000 in recurring direct deposits in 31 days[9] | $250,000 per depositor per ownership category, and up to $3M through the SoFi Insured Deposit Program[9] |
| Chase | 14,000+ ATMs and 5,000 branches[11] | No fee if you are overdrawn by $50 or less at the end of the business day. Over $50, you avoid the fee by getting back to $50 or less by the end of the next business day. The fee amount is not on the page.[11] | $250,000 per depositor, per institution, for each ownership category[11] |
| Bank of America | Not stated | Choose Standard, where checks and scheduled payments may overdraw the account at $10 for each payment made this way, or Decline All, with no bank fee. ATM and debit purchases are declined when funds are short.[14] | At least $250,000 per depositor, per FDIC-insured bank, per ownership category[14] |
| Wells Fargo | Wells Fargo ATMs are free; other U.S. ATMs cost $3 per withdrawal[15] | $35 per item, up to three fees a business day, with an Extra Day Grace Period. Clear Access Banking has no overdraft fees and a $5 monthly fee.[16] | FDIC insured up to the maximum applicable limit[15] |
| Axos | 95,000+ ATMs and unlimited domestic ATM fee reimbursements[17] | No overdraft fees on Axos Checking[17] | $250,000 per depositor, per bank. Axos ONE mentions expanded coverage up to $2.5MM through its Axos Insured deposit program.[18] |
| Fidelity | Unlimited global ATM fee reimbursements at ATMs with Visa, Plus or Star logos[19] | Not stated | Not stated |
On insurance, the FDIC says each co-owner's shares of all joint accounts at one bank are added and insured to $250,000 per co-owner.[1] So a couple holding more than $500,000 in joint accounts at one bank is above the limit. Putting a share at a second bank is the usual fix.
How to add a partner
If you already have an account, you can usually add a partner. The way in is the part that differs most between banks.
| Bank | How the page says to do it |
|---|---|
| Capital One 360 | Online: sign in, open the account, then Account services and settings, then Add/view joint account holder. It needs a mobile number that can get a one-time passcode. Branch accounts go through the branch.[4] |
| Ally | Pick Joint when you open, or add an owner to an existing account online: log in, choose the account, then Account details and Account owners. Each co-owner must be 18 or older.[8] |
| SoFi | Gear icon, then Add a joint account owner, or open a new joint account. SoFi emails an invitation that expires after 30 days. Merging two existing accounts is not available.[10] |
| Chase | In a branch, together: all current owners and the new owner, with two forms of valid ID, one of them primary. Most personal deposit products can have joint owners, depending on the state.[13] |
| Bank of America | Not stated |
| Wells Fargo | Open a joint account online or at a branch; both applicants give the same information as for an individual account.[15] |
| Axos | Not stated |
| Fidelity | The page links to a joint account option but gives no steps.[19] |
Bank by bank
One short note on each, with the one fact that sets it apart. The order follows the short list above.
Capital One 360
Capital One's checking page says there are no monthly fees, no minimums and no overdraft fees, and that is the plainest fee story of the banks here.
For joint owners: Savings can be opened in your name and one other person's. The pages read do not say whether each owner gets their own debit card or login. Either owner can withdraw, transfer or close without the other's consent.[5]
Ally
Ally is online only. Its Spending account has no monthly fee and refunds some ATM fees, and the savings rate on its page comes with no stated deposit condition.
For joint owners: The article says you can have multiple owners on any Ally account. It does not say whether each owner gets a card.[8]
SoFi
SoFi has no account fees, and the catch is how its savings rate is earned. On a joint account, only the primary holder's direct deposits count.
For joint owners: Direct deposits count toward the bonus and the rate only for the primary holder, the person who opened the joint account first.[9]
Chase
Chase charges $15 a month unless you meet one of four rules, and its help page says to add a joint owner you all go to a branch together.
For joint owners: Each joint owner has full control of the funds and can make transactions, monitor activity and close the account. The pages read do not say whether each owner gets their own debit card or online login. You cannot remove another owner; only an owner can remove themselves, in a branch.[13]
Bank of America
Bank of America's Advantage Plus Banking costs $12 a month with three ways to waive it. Its page says nothing about joint accounts, so ask before you apply.
Wells Fargo
Wells Fargo's product page says you can open a joint account online or at a branch. It charges $15 a month unless you meet a rule, and overdraft is $35 an item.
Axos
Axos lists the highest savings rates in this roundup, and each comes with a condition: a new-customer window, or $1,500 to $5,000 in monthly direct deposits and balances. Its pages we read don't cover joint accounts.
Fidelity
Fidelity's Cash Management Account is a brokerage account used like checking. Its overview page gives few numbers, so most cells say not stated.
For joint owners: It is a brokerage account made for spending, and the Fidelity Debit Card is issued by Leader Bank, N.A. For accounts opened after September 28, 2026, investing is limited to certain fixed income, CDs and Fidelity money market funds.[19]
What the pages don't say
We looked for whether each owner gets their own debit card and their own login. For every bank here, the pages we read do not say. Capital One's checking page lists a free debit card, and Ally's article says all owners can make purchases. Neither says each owner gets a separate card.
Before you apply, ask the bank four things: does each owner get a card in their own name, does each have a separate login, do both owners' deposits count toward the fee waiver or the savings rate, and what happens to the account if one of you wants out. The last one matters because the pages we read say any owner can take the money out or close the account.
How to choose
- If you want the fewest fees, start with the four that list none on checking: Capital One 360, Ally, SoFi and Axos. Then compare their savings rates and what each needs for the rate.
- If you deposit cash or want a branch, Chase, Bank of America and Wells Fargo have branches. Plan around the $12 to $15 monthly fee and meet one of its waivers.
- If you want to open it together on your phones, the pages describe online joint setup at Capital One, Ally, SoFi and Wells Fargo. Chase asks you to go in together.
- If you travel or pull cash a lot, compare ATM reimbursement: Ally refunds up to $10 per statement cycle, Axos lists unlimited domestic reimbursement, and Fidelity lists unlimited global reimbursement.
- If you want your own money too, a joint account for shared bills plus your own account each is a common setup. Our guide to yours, mine and ours shows how couples split it.
Where Wonderful fits
Wonderful is a budgeting app, not a bank. We make it, so weigh this section accordingly. A joint account is one way to share costs. The other way is to keep your own accounts, and Wonderful is built for that: each of you connects your own bank, chooses account by account whether the other sees everything, only totals, or nothing, and shared costs split evenly, by income or any way you choose, with a running total of who owes whom.[21]
So a joint account becomes optional. Some couples still want one for the rent and utilities, and the app can sit on top of that too, because it connects banks through Plaid. If you later move from separate to shared money, you can switch on a date you pick, and earlier months stay as they were. See our guide on going from separate to shared money.
9. Couples who would rather keep their own accounts than merge them
Wonderful
$14.99/mo or $99/yr· Web
What it is
A budgeting app for couples who keep their own money, and for one person: each of you connects your own bank, chooses what the other sees, and every paycheck gets a plan.
Why it's on this list
Wonderful is not free: a free week, then $14.99 a month or $99 a year for the household. A partner joins with their own login at no extra cost.
It is a budgeting app, not a bank, and it runs in the browser only for now.
Ideal for: Two people who keep their own accounts, share some bills, and will pay $99 a year for the household after a free week.
What it does
- Every paycheck gets a plan for bills, spending and saving before it lands.[22]
- Banks connect through Plaid and every charge is sorted into a category.[21][22]
- Mine, yours and ours: each charge counts for the person or the pair it belongs to.[22]
- Finds recurring charges and subscriptions, lists what's due before your next paycheck, and flags a bill that comes in higher than usual. It doesn't cancel them for you.[22]
- Texts you by iMessage when a bill is charged twice, a price goes up or a refund lands, and you can text it questions.[22]
- Savings goals show the month you'll reach them.[22]
- Net worth for each of you and for both, from the balances your banks send, with its line over time.[22]
- Life events like getting married come step by step, with the deadlines.[22]

Good
Wonderful is the wrong pick if you want a place to earn interest or deposit cash. It is a web app only for now, with no iPhone or Android app, and it gives no investment advice. If you want one account that both of you pay into and spend from, a joint account at one of the banks above does that and Wonderful does not. These pages give general information. Rates and fees change, so check the bank's own page before you open an account.
Questions people ask
What is the best joint bank account for couples?
There is no single best one, and a ranking would hide the trade-offs. If you want to avoid fees, the checking accounts at Capital One 360, Ally, SoFi and Axos list no monthly fee, while Chase, Bank of America and Wells Fargo charge $12 to $15 a month unless you meet a deposit or balance rule. If you want a branch, the big banks have them. Pick on fees, where you will deposit cash, and how each of you wants to get in.
Which joint savings account pays the most today?
On November 2, 2026, Axos listed up to 5.00% APY on Axos ONE Savings with qualifying activity, and up to 4.01% on Summit Savings for new customers. SoFi listed 3.30% with direct deposit, and up to 4.40% for new members for six months. Ally listed 3.2%. Capital One listed 3.20% on its Performance Savings page. Every one of these rates is variable and conditions apply, so check the bank's page the day you open.
Do both of us get our own debit card and login?
The pages we read from Capital One, Ally, SoFi, Chase, Bank of America and Wells Fargo do not say. Capital One's checking page lists a free debit card but does not say whether a second owner gets one. Ask the bank before you apply whether each owner gets a card and a separate login, because that decides whether you can both spend without sharing a password.
Is a joint account FDIC insured?
Yes at an FDIC-insured bank. The FDIC adds each co-owner's shares of all joint accounts at one bank and insures up to $250,000 per co-owner, so two owners are covered up to $500,000 in joint accounts at that bank. All co-owners must be living people with equal withdrawal rights. Fidelity's cash management account is a brokerage account, and its page we read gives no coverage amount.
Can one of us empty or close a joint account?
Yes. Capital One's savings disclosure says any joint owner can withdraw, transfer funds or close the account without the other owner's consent. Chase's page says each joint owner has full control of the funds. That is the biggest risk of a joint account, and it is why some couples keep a joint account for bills only. Our joint account guide covers what happens if you split or one of you dies.
Can I open a joint account online?
At Capital One, Ally, SoFi and Wells Fargo, yes: each one's page describes opening or adding a joint owner online. Capital One needs a mobile number that can receive a one-time passcode. At Chase, all owners and the new owner go to a branch together with two forms of ID.
Do we need to be married to open a joint account?
No. The bank pages we read ask for eligibility such as age 18 or older, not a marriage certificate. What changes if you are unmarried is what happens if you split, because divorce law does not apply. Our guide on joint accounts for couples, married or not, goes through it.
Do banks charge more for a joint account?
The pages we read list one monthly fee per account, not a separate joint fee. Chase, Bank of America and Wells Fargo list a monthly fee with ways to waive it. For those, read whether both owners' deposits and balances count; Bank of America ties one waiver to an account owner's rewards tier, and its page does not describe joint accounts.
Do we need a joint account at all?
No. Many couples keep their own accounts and pay shared bills by splitting them, evenly or by income. A joint account is one way to do it. An app that tracks what you share can do the same job without merging money, and our guides on separate finances and on yours, mine and ours show how.
Will these rates and fees still be right next month?
Probably not all of them. Savings APYs are variable and banks can change them at any time, and promotions end. Every number on this page was read from the bank's own page on November 2, 2026, with its link. Check the bank's page before you open an account.
- Joint bank account for couples, married or not →
- How to open a joint bank account online →
- Keeping separate finances after marriage →
- Yours, mine and ours: how a three-pot budget works →
- Best budgeting apps for couples →
- How couples split money: 7 ways, compared →
- Couples budgeting apps and privacy: what your partner can see →
Sources
22 sources · read November 2, 2026
Every number on this page comes from fdic.gov, capitalone.com, ally.com and 8 more. If a source has changed since, the source is right.
- 1FDIC: Your Insured Deposits (joint accounts)fdic.gov
- 2Capital One 360: online checking accountcapitalone.com
- 3Capital One 360: online performance savings accountcapitalone.com
- 4Capital One 360: add joint account holdercapitalone.com
- 5Capital One 360: more infocapitalone.com
- 6Ally: online checking accountally.com
- 7Ally: online savings accountally.com
- 8Ally: joint bank accountally.com
- 9SoFi: bankingsofi.com
- 10SoFi: 360061161872 Do you offer joint accounts with SoFi Checking and Savingssupport.sofi.com
- 11Chase: total checkingchase.com
- 12Chase: savings accountchase.com
- 13Chase: joint ownerchase.com
- 14Bank of America: advantage bankingbankofamerica.com
- 15Wells Fargo: everydaywellsfargo.com
- 16Wells Fargo: overdraft serviceswellsfargo.com
- 17Axos: Rewards Checkingaxosbank.com
- 18Axos: High Yield Savingsaxosbank.com
- 19Fidelity: overviewfidelity.com
- 20Wonderful terms of servicewonderful.money
- 21Wonderful privacy policywonderful.money
- 22Wonderfulwonderful.money
App names are trademarks of their owners; Wonderful isn't connected with them. Wonderful gives general information. It isn't a financial or tax advisor.